riding a high, for now…

Over this last weekend I had the pleasure to open for Bobby Lee (MadTv, Pineapple Express) at The Improv in Schaumburg IL.  It was one of the most fun weekends I’ve ever had doing comedy, in addition to working with Bobby I also got to work a very talented comic named Sarah Tiana (E!, New Season of Reno 911).

The 3 of us after the last show on 3/22

improv7

The crowds were pretty large all weekend long, 3 shows around 300+ and 2 sellouts which is about 420+, being in an opener in that situation is a very tough task the larger they are the louder they are going to be.  I did 15 minute sets up front each night, and felt good about everyone of them except for Sunday.  I wasn’t horrible by any means but the laughs weren’t as strong as they were the first 4 shows.  However I recieved some very positive feedback from the other performers on the show, which means a lot to me seeing as they are both much further along than I am in comedy.  As the opening act you usually are left by the way side which is fine, its obvious that the crowds are not there to see me.  However I did get some really nice compliments from members of the audience in lobby during the meet and greets after the shows, I must say it was pretty cool. Bobby was so nice all weekend long, I was really impressed with the way he carried himself as a young comic coming up it was a really awesome experience for me and a big confidence booster.  I really hope I get the chance to work with him and Sarah in the future.

So last night I did a set at The Zoo in Chicago IL (located 1 block from Wrigley Field) the name of the show is Endangered Comics, it is hosted by my good friend Comedian Mike Von.  The show featured some really good comics a few of whom I consider close friends and I was really happy to be a part of it.  First of all Mike Von is one of the best emcees I’ve ever seen, this guy not only has endless supplies of material he is so good at keeping the crowd hot, which is why he has been tapped to host a special show with me & Ryan Budds (announcement of said show coming soon!)  The crowd was pretty solid last night for a Monday, about 30 people and since the room is so small and intimate it was perfect.  I had a lot of fun there, I was a bit apprehensive before I went up but next thing I knew I was in the zone had a pretty solid set!

I purchased  the rest of my hockey equipment today, so as soon as the stuff I ordered online gets here its time to hit the ice, I can’t wait for that shit its going to be hilarious!

So yea, I’ve had a pretty good past few days which in my life means something really fucking shitty is going happen. I hope not but that’s usually how it goes for me.

Tomorrow night I’ll be going to the blackhawks game, so I will most likely not blog.

Anything else before I go, oh yes… I ate Little Caesars pizza for lunch and it was delicious just how as I remember it when I was a young lad.

little_caesar-7893061

(did not proofread, don’t care either)

later alligators

Leave a Reply

